Tag Archives: new album

Artist of the Week [10/4/13]: Ra

Named after the Egyptian sun god, hard rock band Ra has been around for over a decade. Ra used to be somewhat of a household name for hard rock bands, but have since seemed to go off the map.  They are currently in the process of making their comeback.  Their new, fan-funded album, Critical Mass, is slated for an October 15th release.  The band previously released the album’s first single, “SuperMegaDubstep.”

Having owned all of Ra’s releases, with the exception of 2009’s digitally released B-side compilation, Black Sheep, since 2005 or so, it can be said that Ra’s music is well worth the financial investment.

It is very unfortunate that Ra essentially lost the fame they had gained over the lengthy span of their music careers.  However, it looks like they will fight for it back, and anyone who wants to win a war against the current state of the music industry should enlist on Ra’s side.

Anyway, the band is comprised of four very talented musicians, two of whom have kept very busy during Ra’s downtime.  Lead singer and band founder, Sahaj [Ticotin] released a solo record in 2012, titled Another Minute.  It was much softer and calmer than a lot of Ra’s material.  It leaned more toward singer/songwriter acoustic rock rather than hard rock/alternative metal. Sahaj also acts as a record producer, having recently worked with up-and-coming hard rockers Downstait.  As for the other members of Ra, guitarist Ben Carroll has his own side project called The Hollow Glow, who have seen moderate success among the underground rock scene.

Ra incorporate a variety of styles into their music, allowing for a diverse fan base.  For instance, on “Faulty Information,” from 2008’s Black Sun, Sahaj spits a brief rap during the bridge. They also provide an excellent cover of Police’s “Every Little Thing She Does Is Magic” on 2005’s Duality. With Sahaj’s unique and versatile vocals, Ra will be unstoppable once they resurface.  This should not be a problem, now that the original lineup is back in action together.

Fans of Shinedown, Alter Bridge, and Seether should definitely check out Ra.  Key focus tracks include “Faulty Information,” “Easier Than This,” “On My Side,” “Got Me Going,” and Ra’s cover of “Every Little Thing She Does Is Magic.”  The first two tracks are off of Black Sun, “On My Side” is from 2002’s From One, and the last two are featured on Duality.

For more information on Ra, visit their website and/or Facebook page.


[SONG REVIEW] Killswitch Engage – “In Due Time”

From the groovy opening riff pummeling the listener’s eardrums, it is clear that the fire in the bellies of these Westfield, Massachusetts metallers has been fully rekindled since the return of original lead vocalist, Jesse Leach.

“In Due Time” is the first single coming from Killswitch Engage’s forthcoming sixth full-length release, Disarm the Descent, which is the first to feature Leach since 2002’s Alive or Just Breathing.  If this song is any form of a preview to the overall new album, it’s looking pretty good and heavy for long-time Killswitch fans.  The new single is not only refreshing because it’s new KsE, but also because it sounds more like Killswitch Engage than Killswitch Engage did on 2009’s Killswitch Engage, their second self-titled release.  Now, that seems pretty ironic, but if you’ve ever heard that record, you would understand.  That CD sounded like the band just didn’t care anymore.  They seemed to be turning into DevilDriver, simply moving through the motions and mindlessly appeasing their record contracts.  However, once the band’s at-the-time frontman, Howard Jones, left the picture and Jesse Leach returned, things were definitely looking up.

After listening to “In Due Time” several times, it definitely seems as though the band is back on the right track.  Judging by this one song, it seems like fans should expect Disarm the Descent to be some sort of combination between Alive and 2004’s The End of Heartache, arguably the band’s best two albums. Despite the difference in vocalists (The End of Heartache was the first KsE album with Howard Jones), the overall sound of the music on both CDs is comparable in heaviness, energy, and evident passion from all parts of the band.  All of those elements seem to have resurfaced nine years later in this brand new single.

Disarm the Descent will be released on April 2, 2013 [in North America] via Roadrunner Records.


“In Due Time”

%d bloggers like this: