Thoughts on Bonnaroo 2012 Lineup

This year’s lineup for the annual Bonnaroo festival was recently announced, and I figured I would offer my thoughts on the subject:

I have never been to Bonnaroo, nor have I been on a road trip of any kind.  However, after seeing this lineup, I might have two first’s come June 7th-10th.  While I do not know a good portion of the artists listed, most of the ones I do know, I really like.

Red Hot Chili Peppers are listed as one of the headliners.  They are also hitting the TD Garden in May.  It may be cooler to see them at Bonnaroo, though, especially when a bunch of other artists I like will also be playing.

Of the artists I know, the ones I am particularly excited for include Red Hot Chili Peppers, Childish Gambino, Ludacris, Foster the People, Young the Giant, Delta Spirit, and Kvelertak.

With the exceptions of Young the Giant and Delta Spirit, I have never witnessed any of the above acts in a live setting.  I saw Young the Giant open for Incubus this past September.  They were great live and I have since purchased their album and grown a stronger bond with their music.  As for Delta Spirit, I experienced their live show at a Dr. Dog show a couple years back.  I didn’t know how I felt about them at first, because I was still strictly into mostly metal at that time.  I have more recently diversified my music taste much more extensively.  For that reason, I believe I would be able to appreciate Delta Spirit more so than when I saw them with Dr. Dog, despite the fact that I did enjoy their music.

Red Hot Chili Peppers are classic and pretty self-explanatory.

Last fall, one of my good buddies introduced me to Childish Gambino.  This guy is extremely talented with everything he does.  Comedy fans might know him as Donald Glover and/or recognize him from the TV show, Community, or the “Bro Rape” satirical video on YouTube.  This dude is incredible with anything he touches, especially his music under the moniker of Childish Gambino.  I NEED to see him live.  I missed his headlining show at the House of Blues in November, so this needs to be fixed.

I woke up yesterday morning before I even knew about the lineup, singing Ludacris songs for some reason.  I thought to myself, “What ever happened to Ludacris?”  Soon afterwards, I learned that he would be at Bonnaroo this year.  He should hopefully be a good live act.

I have Foster The People’s album, Torches, and love it, so I am excited to potentially seeing them live.

Kvelertak is a Norwegian metal band with the catchiest riffs.  I know about them via my former position as metal director at WBIM.  I received their record as promo last year and really enjoyed it.

One more act I didn’t mention is Yelawolf.  One of my best friends really likes Yelawolf.  He says that the rapper is ‘so bad that he’s good.’  Hmm… We’ll see.

Overall, I think this is a fantastic lineup and I truly hope I can find a way to get there this year.  Money might be an issue..

Thanks for reading!

Here is the lineup:

http://lineup.bonnaroo.com/

One response to “Thoughts on Bonnaroo 2012 Lineup

  • emily

    Great article. I think you managed to also catch some of my excitement over some of the artists. I think Gambino is a must see. Best lineup I’ve ever seen for a show.

Leave a Reply

