Album Review: Ellie Goulding – “Lights”

I have known about Ellie for a couple months now and avidly listened to Bassnectar’s remix of her single, “Lights,” off of her release of the same title.  However, just last week, I finally invested in Miss Goulding’s full CD.  I haven’t looked back since.  This record is amazing from top to bottom.  I understand this review may seem slightly abnormal compared to my other articles.  It may be hard to believe, but I have a pretty diverse taste of music, despite the heavy focus in hard rock and heavy metal.

Anyway, I dig the single version of “Lights,” but Bassnectar’s remix puts up a tough competition.  One song on this album for which no remix can do justice is that of “Starry Eyed,” the third track off the album.  It is simply an amazing song: Ellie’s voice, the beat, the melody, everything.  Another top track for me is “Under the Sheets.”  Although, this album is tight straight through.  I truly recommend this to anyone and everyone.  Ellie Goulding gives something for any type of listener with any type of music taste out there with 2011’s Lights.

This record is proof that there is still talent out there in the music industry.

Simply amazing.

To all of the Ellie Goulding lovers out there:

Leave a Reply

