Top Albums of 2010

The year 2010 definitely delivered in the music aspect of society, especially in terms of rock and metal.  As anyone who has read my other articles knows, I focus mainly on hard rock and metal news and information.  However, I have to note that I thoroughly enjoyed Eminem’s 2010 release, Recovery.  It was a great return for the rap artist, especially after his disappointing Relapse of 2009.  So, Eminem gets my vote for best album of 2010 in terms of mainstream pop/hip-hop/rap music.  With that said, let’s get to the goods…

Musictalker’s Top 10 Rock/Metal Releases of 2010:

10. Holy Grail – Crisis in Utopia  (Phenomenal new band. For fans of Black Tide, these guys sound like a thrashier version of Black Tide when they were still good and promising for a return of old school metal. Holy Grail actually has a future. Hopefully, they won’t pull a Black Tide and kill that potential!)

9. Deftones – Diamond Eyes  (I don’t usually listen to Deftones normally, but this was hard not to give a good listen. great album)

8. The Devil Wears Prada – Zombie EP  (I sort of gave these guys a listen with their earlier stuff and wasn’t really a fan, but this release is much heavier and has the potential to appeal to a larger audience)

7. The Acacia Strain – Wormwood  (Another band I never really bothered listening to, but this is a killer album.  It still wrecks your ears and makes that brutal statement The Acacia Strain never fails to force upon their listeners, but also forges a sound that other types of metal listeners can relate to.)

6. The Damned Things – Ironiclast  (This is more bluesy hard rock, but so catchy and so good.  It is a very weird collaboration of musicians, though.  The Damned Things consists of members of pop-punkers Fall Out Boy, hardcore band Everytime I Die, and Big Four thrash metallers Anthrax.  Very, very weird combination, but the musical product is really good!)

5. Avenged Sevenfold – Nightmare  (This is bound to appear on many ‘best of 2010’ lists.  Despite the loss of Jimmy “The Rev” Sullivan, A7X delivers a solid release, utilizing Dream Theater’s [now former] drummer, Mike Portnoy.  I only listen to a few A7X songs here and there, but this album was good overall.)

4. Death Angel – Relentless Retribution  (Thrasherpiece!  These guys killed it with this record.  They showed their power and expertise and why they are still playing strong after 20+ years of thrashing hard.  I actually interviewed lead guitarist Rob Cavestany for my radio show.  These guys are simply awesome and I really want to see them live!)

3. Exodus – Exhibit B: The Human Condition  (Another absolute killer thrasherpiece!  While I am not really a fan of their current vocalist, Rob Dukes, Exodus showed why they, too, still belong on that stage, playing heavy ass thrash metal.  Dukes actually gets the job done with this one.  Great thrash metal record.  Exhibit B and Relentless Retribution are neck-and-neck for best thrash metal record of 2010 in my book, with Overkill’s Ironbound close behind!)

2. Black Label Society – Order of the Black  (Oh. My. God.  This album is just too good.  I think it tops 2005’s Mafia.  I think Zakk realized how much of a failure Shot to Hell was and stepped it up BIG TIME!  I think Zakk getting sober may have worked out with his music after all. Good job, brother!)

1. As I Lay Dying – The Powerless Rise  (Awesome metalcore, dare I say, masterpiece.  These guys have found their own sound and direction.  AILD managed to bring back their brutality from their earlier years, maintain their melodic components from their more recent albums, and just step up everything, creating an altogether awesome effort.  I interviewed lead guitarist Nick Hipa for my radio show and he was wicked cool.  He was a great subject for an interview and proved how down-to-earth these dudes really are.  That fact enhances the power of their music.  Anyways, this was definitely #1 of 2010 for me.)

There you have it, folks.  Musictalker’s Top 10 Hard Rock/Metal Albums of 2010.  That’s all for now! Stay tuned to my blog, stay metal, and keep loving music, everybody!

Leave a Reply

